Loving and learning...

Missed opportunity

I just read this blog over at sheseeks.org entitled please don’t judge me about misplaced priorities, and it just reminded me of a missed opportunity to share this past week. I got home from work in the morning (I work overnights) and decided to run to the store to pick up a few things. As I walked up the street toward my apartment, I saw a man appearing to be rummaging through the trash, and felt impressed to give. I am sometimes wary of giving money to people on the streets, because I don’t know if they will use it to buy food or cigarettes/drugs. But in my shopping bag I had two bags of bread instead of one. He moved away from the trash can and started walking away, but then turned talking incoherently to himself. Fear, and whatever else – I don’t know, made me keep walking instead of giving him the bread from my bag. As I walked I kept looking back at that man, telling myself it was not too late to turn back. But I kept walking. I walked into my apartment with exactly what I left the store with. Missed opportunity… I ask God for opportunities to share Him with others, but then I walk away when the opportunity presents itself…

I pray to God for mercy that I know He is willing to extend after my missed opportunity, but I pray that I will step up to the challenge when the next opportunity presents itself.

In the words of the old hymn, “If I can help somebody as I pass along, If I can cheer somebody with a word or song, If I can show somebody how they’re travelling wrong, Then my living shall not be in vain”

“I may not be able to change the world, but I can change one life. The world will just have to adjust” (quote from a favorite children’s book)

Leave a Reply

