Loving and learning...

Be still

Yesterday as I sat on a shuttle bus, waiting at a stoplight, a car behind started blowing their horn. One lady commented that she hates horns, and another stated that she always does the best she can, so what does the horn help anyway? My immediate thought? It doesn’t.

We live in an “instant” world. People have become used to, and even come to expect, everything to happen automatically. And so, we’re impatient. Any hesitation, and we get mad, frustrated, even outraged. How dare that car sit still for even a second after the light has turned green? How dare that waitress take so long to deliver my order? Time is ticking away. How dare that teacher give me a failing grade? Does that mean I have to stay in this school even a minute longer than I had planned?

We’re that way with God too. At least, I am… sort of. Currently. I have been waiting/hoping for months for something specific to happen in my life. Well, there are several things I’ve been waiting for actually. And I tell you, the wait is annoying, frustrating, everything. Sometimes I want to give up. I think, what’s the point? If it hasn’t happened by now, should I even continue to hope? What’s taking so long God?!?!

And a voice says,

“Be still, and know that I am God; 
   I will be exalted among the nations, 
   I will be exalted in the earth.” (Ps. 46:10)

… I hear You God…

One thought on “Be still

Leave a Reply

