Uncategorized

Satan has desired to sift you as wheat

Luke 22: 31,32  “Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift all of you as wheat. But I have prayed for you, Simon, that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers.”

I would like to insert my own name into this passage, and you can do the same. 

“Randelle, Randelle, Satan has asked to sift … you as wheat. But I have prayed for you, Randelle, that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers.”

The devil has plans for all of us. Later in that same chapter, Peter denies His Savior, three times. It almost seems as if Satan’s sifting is successful – like he has proven Peter a fraud… not a true follower of Christ. The man who said “Lord, I am ready to go with you to prison and to death.”(Luke 22:33) was adamant that he did not even know Jesus, let alone follow Him. And just hours after this conversation with Jesus! 

But wait, there is good news. The passage says that Satan desired to sift Peter as wheat, as he does all of us. But is goes on to say that Jesus has prayed for us. Imagine that! Jesus, Savior of the world, has prayed for me! He knows that I am weak. He knows that I may fall. But He prayed for me, that despite all the tempter throw my way, that my faith in Him would not fail.

Peter went on to be one of the strongest pillars of faith ever known. Jesus said to Peter to strengthen his brethren. That is also our duty. Yes, we will fall. But Jesus is our advocate – our lawyer – as we stand trial for our sins. (John 2:1) With Jesus on our side, how can we lose? 

And after we have been tried and won, it is our duty to uplift those around us. We all need the Savior. Let us live for Him, and share Him with others, today.

5 thoughts on “Satan has desired to sift you as wheat

  1. Your devotion was a blessing to me. You stated ” It almost seems as if Satan’s sifting is successful – like he has proven Peter a fraud”. Christian soldiers be encouraged You are not a fraud. God designed Peter and God designed you. You may have friends and love ones who believe your faith is fake and temporary trend. But keep on living in reverence and honor to the word of God. You are not lost and Jesus is praying for you. Just as he did Peter. In closing, May Gods peace guide you in all you do.

  2. I am so depressed I have trouble praying or concentrating long enough to read Gods word. I have lost faith in me, things I know I can do, I am afraid to do, afraid I will fail. I was so afraid God was done with me. Thank you for your words.

Leave a Reply

