Uncategorized

God’s voice

“And your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying, ‘This is the way, walk in it,’ when you turn to the right or when you turn to the left.” Isaiah 30:21 (ESV)

This was the key text in my devotional thought today. It’s fitting too, because I am struggling with a bunch of important decisions and I am so confused. I want to make the right choices. I want to make the God choices. Of course, I want to make the choices that will make me happiest and most fulfilled in the long run, but moreso, I want to make the choices that will enable me to live out God’s purpose for my life. It’s hard to know which way to turn, but today’s verse is encouraging.

Your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying, ‘This is the way, walk in it,'”. 

Oh trust me, I need that word. But how to I hear it? I guess my ears need to be trained to recognize God’s voice, since in the midst of a decision so many voices vie for your attention.

Just a few days ago I was thinking about Abraham, and how he knew God’s voice so well that He was willing to sacrifice Isaac, his beloved son, at God’s admonition. He didn’t hesitate, thinking that there was no way this could be God’s voice. God would never ask him to kill his son, the child of promise, his pride and joy. But because Abraham knew God’s voice, He knew that although He did not understand, that God was in control, and He acted based on that. I want that kind of relationship with God. I want to know His voice. When I turn to the left or to the right, I want to hear God’s voice saying, “This is the way, walk in it”.

And now, I’m off to read God’s love letter to me (The Bible), one important step in learning His voice

Leave a Reply

