Loving and learning... · The Word

I AM my brother’s keeper

Then the Lord said to Cain, “Where is Abel your brother?” He said, “I do not know; am I my brother’s keeper?”

Gen 4:9

In Matthew 25:31-46, Jesus tells a story giving us a glimpse of what it will be like at His second coming. He also gives us some vital detail about living in the here and now. He talks of sheep (His faithful people) and goats (those that do not follow Him and His example).  There is an important principle introduced here in these verses. As Christians, reaching out and helping others is not just a good deed, something to expect praise for. But, it is our duty.

The word “Christian” means follower of Christ. When Jesus was on earth, He preached and taught, yes. But He spent much of His time with the people… healing the sick, restoring sight to the blind, raising the dead. Jesus truly was a “people person”. I’d say He’s the very definition. If it’s our desire to be like Him, then we must be “people people” too.

Do you know someone who’s struggling? Can you see a need? Pray for them, yes. Of course. Prayer changes things. The power of prayer is immense. But ask yourself, “is there something more tangible that I can do as well?” Can you look after the child of a worn-out mother so she can have a moment to breathe? Can you cook a meal? Clean a yard? Donate some well-needed funds? Whatever you can do, remember, it’s not just a “nice thing”, or good deed. It’s your duty.

Am I my brother’s keeper? Are you?

 

‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’

Matt 25:40

One thought on “I AM my brother’s keeper

Leave a Reply

